Skip to main content

NZ On Air

NZ On Air  - Irirangi Te Motu

NZ On Air (New Zealand's Broadcasting Commission) is a government broadcasting funding agency which invests in a range of local television, radio, music and new media content. 

In June 2014, the government announced the formation of Screen New Zealand, a new ‘virtual agency’ that formalises the collaboration of three existing screen agencies. The New Zealand Film Commission, Film New Zealand and NZ On Air will work together on a number of specific projects under the umbrella of Screen New Zealand.

The Ministry manages NZ On Air's relationship with the Crown on behalf of the Minister of Broadcasting, monitoring the funding agreement between the Minister and the entity.

Organisation Details

  • Chair – Miriam Dean
  • Chief Executive – Jane Wrightson

Contact details

NZ On Air is governed by a board appointed by the Minister of Broadcasting.  The board should consist of not less that three and no more than six members.

Board Membership (expiry dates in brackets):

  • Miriam Dean – Chair (March 2018)
  • Helen Grattan (Dec 2018)
  • Kim Wicksteed (November 2018)
  • Ross McRobie  (July 2017)
  • John McCay (Sep 2018)
  • Ian Taylor (July 2018)

Related links

NZ On Air Annual Report 2016

NZ On Air Statement of Intent 2014-2018

NZ On Air Statement of Performance Expectations for 30 June 2017

NZ On Air website

Broadcasting Act 1989.