A selection of sites and sources for learning about New Zealand’s involvement in conflict, both here and overseas.

Starting Places

A number of websites offer a good overview of New Zealand’s involvement in conflict.

New Zealand Sites

Overseas sites with New Zealand connections

Military History Collections

Most New Zealand libraries, archives and museums have some material relating to the First World War. The main military history collections (not all available online) are held by:

New Zealand and the First World War history

If you are specifically interested in the First World War a number of sites offer good starting points.

Get an overview of the history of New Zealand and the First World War. Also see the WW100 timeline.

WW100 has a good selection of sites and sources for learning about the history of the First World War from a New Zealand perspective, and the role your family members might have played in it.

The National Library of New Zealand has a research guide to New Zealand and Zealanders during the First World War.

Read a guide to researching New Zealand soldiers and related service personnel.

Watch stories about a range of New Zealanders who were impacted by the First World War.

Additional links

BBC - http://www.bbc.com/

History Learning - http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/world-war-one/timeline-of-world-war-one/

History Chanel Website - http://www.history.com/

Walking with An Anzac - http://walkingwithananzac.tumblr.com/

The Prow  - http://www.theprow.org.nz/yourstory/private-william-arthur-ham/#.V6Jos-t96Uk

Nga Tāonga Sound & Vision                    http://www.ngataonga.org.nz/

Anzac.govt  - http://anzac.govt.nz/

Archway - https://www.archway.archives.govt.nz/

Auckland Library  - http://www.aucklandlibraries.govt.nz/EN/Pages/Home.aspx

DigitalNZ -  http://www.digitalnz.org/

Community Archive -  http://thecommunityarchive.org.nz/

National Library of NZ - http://natlib.govt.nz/

Genealogy - http://genealogy.org/

Ancestry.com - http://www.ancestry.com/

RSA - https://rsa.org.nz/

Hocken  - http://www.otago.ac.nz/library/hocken/

War Art   -  http://warart.archives.govt.nz/

WW100 -  http://ww100.govt.nz/

Cenotaph - http://www.aucklandmuseum.com/war-memorial/online-cenotaph

Ministry of Education  - http://www.education.govt.nz/ministry-of-education/events-and-awards/centenary-of-world-war-i-learn-and-never-forget/

TKI - http://www.firstworldwar.tki.org.nz/

Social Science TKI  - http://ssol.tki.org.nz/

Pukeahu Anthology  - http://pukeahuanthology.org/

Nga Tapuwae - http://ngatapuwae.govt.nz/

Papers Past - https://paperspast.natlib.govt.nz/

NZETC - http://nzetc.victoria.ac.nz/

The French Memorial at Pukeahu - http://www.frenchmemorialatpukeahu.org/#!finalists/qnddc

History Pin  - https://www.historypin.org/en/

WWI Rap  - http://walkingwithananzac.tumblr.com/post/92111622501/what-caused-wwi-watch-the-main-players-slug-it

Twitter 100 years ago - https://twitter.com/life100yearsago

Any Questions - http://anyquestions.co.nz/


Updated on 20th October 2016