

Hon Kris Faafoi Minister for Broadcasting and Media Update on Media Sector Work Programme

Date: 15 November 2021

Title: Proactive Release of Cabinet Material: Update on Media Sector Work

Programme

Author: Ministry for Culture and Heritage

This document has been proactively released by the Minister.

Title: CBC-20-MIN-0030 Minute of Decision: Update on Media Sector Work

Programme



Cabinet Business Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Oral Item: Update on Media Sector Work Programme

Portfolio Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media

On 8 April 2020, the Cabinet Business Committee:

- noted the briefing from the Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media on current issues faced by the media sector;
- noted that the detailed business case on the viability of establishing a new public media entity that was expected to be provided to Cabinet in July 2020 [CAB-20-MIN-0004] will be paused on completion of the strategic and economic cases, and that this work will be revisited at a later date:
- noted that the Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media is leading work to identify measures to support the media sector response to the impact of COVID-19 and intends to submit a paper on short-term support measures to Cabinet shortly;
- 4 **noted** that the Minister is also progressing work on longer-term options for future sector sustainability and will report back to Cabinet in due course.

Vivien Meek Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern (Chair)

Rt Hon Winston Peters

Hon Kelvin Davis

Hon Grant Robertson

Hon Phil Twyford

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Chris Hipkins

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Hon Dr David Clark

Hon David Parker

Hon Nanaia Mahuta

Hon Ian Lees-Galloway

Hon Jenny Salesa

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Ron Mark

Hon Tracey Martin

Hon James Shaw

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Treasury

