

Hon Carmel Sepuloni

Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage

Commemorating on the 50th Anniversary of the Māori Language Petition

Date: 21 October 2021

Title: Proactive Release of Cabinet Material: Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of

the Māori Language Petition

Author: Ministry for Culture and Heritage

This document has been proactively released by the Minister.

Title: SWC-21-MIN-0126 Minute of Decision: Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of

the Māori Language Petition



Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Māori Language Petition

Portfolio Arts, Culture and Heritage

On 29 September 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee (SWC):

- noted that in 2014, Cabinet agreed that the lists of Tier 1 and Tier 2 anniversaries be reviewed regularly and that Tier one anniversaries be approved by Cabinet [SOC Min (14) 9/2];
- agreed that the 50th anniversary of the presentation of the Māori language petition and Māori Language Day be considered a Tier 1 commemoration in 2022;
- 3 noted that commemorative activities will be delivered through baseline budgets;
- 4 **noted** that the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage intends to report back to SWC to seek approval to a refreshed commemorations policy and extended list of anniversaries for 2023 to 2027 after the Ministry for Culture and Heritage has undertaken engagement with iwi/Māori and state sector agencies.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Hon Dr Megan Woods

Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair)

Hon Andrew Little

Hon Poto Williams

Hon Damien O'Connor

Hon Kris Faafoi

Hon Peeni Henare

Hon Willie Jackson

Hon Jan Tinetti

Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall

Hon Meka Whaitiri

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan

Officials present from:

Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Officials Committee for SWC