Skip to main content
  • Select your preferred language:

About historical Treaty settlements

The Treaty of Waitangi was signed by Māori Rangatira, or Chiefs, and representatives of the British Crown in 1840.

Historical claims are made by Māori claimant groups against the Crown for breaches of the Treaty of Waitangi before 1992. Settlements aim to resolve these claims by providing some redress to claimant groups. When a settlement is reached, it becomes law.

Deed of Settlement documentation and legislation can be found online on two government websites:

Treaty of Waitangi claims (New Zealand Government)

New Zealand legislation (Parliamentary Counsel Office)

Our role in the Treaty settlements process

Through the settlement process, we engage with iwi claimant groups, and their post-settlement governance entities (PSGE), that choose relationship redress as part of their overall Treaty settlement package.

Most Deeds of Settlement provide for the development of additional relationship agreements, between iwi and a specific minister of the Crown or government agency.

Our Chief Executive, as delegated by the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage, enters relationship agreements with iwi claimant groups and their PSGE by way of an accord, protocol or whakaaetanga tiaki taonga.

These relationship agreements set out how the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage and our Chief Executive will interact and perform specific actions and operations that are of relevance or interest to the iwi claimant group, as they relate to the care, protection and preservation of iwi taonga and heritage

We must then comply with the obligations outlined in any relationship agreement issued under settlement legislation.

Protocols and accords

Before 2016, we offered relationship redress in the form of a protocol or accord. Protocols and accords were redress instruments relating specifically to our agency’s roles and responsibilities under the Protected Objects Act 1975.

Whakaaetanga Tiaki Taonga

In 2017, the Whakaaetanga Tiaki Taonga (Whakaaetanga) collective relationship agreement was developed. The Whakaaetanga sets out the parties’ commitment to an ongoing relationship which facilitates the care and management, use, development, revitalisation of, and access to taonga, whether held by iwi or the culture and heritage agencies. This includes (but is not limited to):

  • the Protected Objects Act 1975 claims process in relation to ngā taonga tūturu
  • administration of national monuments, war graves and historical graves in the relevant rohe
  • history research and publications
  • arts, culture and heritage board appointments opportunities
  • consultation of policy and legislation
  • registration of iwi as expert examiners and collectors of ngā taonga tūturu and other matters.

The Whakaaetanga gives effect to the partnership between iwi Māori and the respective Te Ara Taonga agencies, who are:

  • Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture and Heritage (MCH)
  • Department of Internal Affairs (DIA)
  • Archives New Zealand (DIA)
  • National Library of New Zealand (DIA)
  • Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
  • Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga (HNZPT)
  • Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision (Ngā Taonga).

The Whakaaetanga collective agreement is now used as the preferred redress instrument in Treaty settlement negotiations. Although, some agencies continue to negotiate agency-specific relationship agreements with iwi, separately.

Te Ara Taonga

Te Ara Taonga is the framework for how we and other cultural sector agencies work together with iwi to support their cultural and heritage aspirations. 

Relationship agreements 

All accords, protocols and whakaaetanga we have entered into are listed below. Some signatures have been redacted for privacy reasons.


Te Nehenehenui (Ngāti Maniapoto) (PDF 6 MB)


Ngāti Rangitihi (Te Mana o Ngāti Rangitihi Trust) (PDF 2 MB)

Moriori Imi Settlement Trust (PDF 13 MB)

Ahuriri Hapū (Mana Ahuriri Trust) (PDF 1.2 MB)

Ngāti Maru (Taranaki) (Te Kāhui Maru Trust: Te Iwi o Maruwharanui) (PDF 1.8 MB)

Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Tāmaki nui-a-Rua (PDF 4.84 MB)


Ngāti Paoa (PDF 288 KB)


Ngāti Rangi (Te Tōtarahoe o Paerangi) (PDF 10 MB)

Ngāti Tūwharetoa (PDF 2.7 MB)

Ngāti Hinerangi (Te Puāwaitanga o Ngāti Hinerangi Iwi Trust) (PDF 2.7 MB)

Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Waikato River) – Tūwharetoa Trust Board (PDF 1.8 MB)

Ngāti Porou artefact relationship agreement (PDF 3.68 MB)


Te Wairoa iwi and hapu (Tātau Tātau o Te Wairoa Trust) (PDF 2.4 MB)

Ngāi Tai ki Tāmaki Tribal Trust (PDF 2.6 MB)

Ngāti Tamaoho Settlement Trust (PDF 2.6 MB)


Rangitāne o Manawatū (Settlement Trust) (PDF 2 MB)

(Wairarapa Tamaki nui-ā-Rua) Rangitāne Tū Mai Rā Trust (PDF 2.6 MB)

Te Ātiawa/Taranaki Whānui (Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust) (PDF 2.2 MB)

Taranaki Iwi (Te Kāhui o Taranaki Trust) (PDF 2.6 MB)

Te Kotahitanga o Te Atiawa Trust (Taranaki) (PDF 1.6 MB)

Ngāruahine (Te Korowai o Ngāruahine Trust) (PDF 2.6 MB)

Ngatikahu ki Whangaroa (Kahukuraariki Trust) (PDF 2.6 MB)

Ngāti Pūkenga (Te Tāwharau o Ngāti Pūkenga Trust) (PDF 3.1 MB)


Te Kōpere o te iwi o Hineuru Trust (PDF 314 KB)


Ngāi Takoto (PDF 1.56 MB)

Ngāti Hauā (PDF 525 KB)

Ngāti Kuri te Hiku (PDF 1.55 KB)

Te Aupōuri (PDF 2.43 MB)

Te Kawerau ā Maki Settlement Trust (PDF 2.86 MB)

Te Rarawa (PDF 1.50 MB)


Maungaharuru-Tangitū Trust (PDF 0.99 MB)

Ngai Tuhoe (PDF 9.38 MB)

Ngāti Apa (PDF 1.17 MB)

Ngāti Apa ki te Rā Tō (PDF 2.6 MB)

Ngāti Koata (PDF 4.26 MB)

Ngāti Kuia (PDF 2.64 MB)

Ngāti Rangiteaorere (PDF 880 KB)

Ngāti Rangiwewehi (PDF 884 KB)

Ngāti Rārua (PDF 2.75 MB)

Ngāti Tama ki Te Waipounamu Trust (PDF 2.91 MB)

Rangitāne o Wairau (PDF 2.75 MB)

Tapuika (PDF 820 KB)

Te Ātiawa o Te Waka-a-Māui (PDF 2.79 MB)


Ngāi Tāmanuhiri (PDF 3.03 MB)

Ngati Manuhiri (Tāmaki) (PDF 2.61 MB)

Ngāti Whātua o Kaipara (PDF 1.16 MB)

Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei (PDF 2.68 MB)

Waitaha (PDF 853 KB)


Ngāti Mākino (PDF 2.91 MB)

Ngāti Manawa (PDF 3.64 MB)

Ngati Porou (PDF 4.08 MB)

Ngāti Whare (PDF 897 KB)

Rongowhakaata (PDF 3.60 MB)


Ngāti Maniapoto (Waipā River) (PDF 1.21 MB)


Raukawa Settlement Trust (River Interests) (PDF 995 KB) 

Te Arawa River Iwi Settlement Trust (PDF 252 KB)


Te Pumautanga o Te Arawa Trust (PDF 905 KB)

Waikato Tainui (PDF 2.37 MB)


Te Roroa (PDF 431 KB)


Ngāti Mutunga Taranaki (PDF 1.13 MB)

Te Arawa Lakes (PDF 912 KB)


Ngāti Awa (PDF 507 KB)


Ngaa Rauru Kiitahi (PDF 230 KB)

Ngāti Ruanui (PDF 1.99 MB)

Ngāti Tama (Word 61.5 KB)

Ngāti Tūwharetoa (Bay of Plenty) (PDF 214 KB)


Te Uri o Hau (PDF 2.22 MB)